Ubuntu 11.04

So Ubuntu 11.04 was released a short time ago. I’ve been using it since the beta version.

I got to be honest: i really don’t like Unity. I think Canonical made a mistake making it the default desktop so early in the development. It’s not polished, crashes a lot and in my case effectively slows performance down, a lot… I’ve since switched to “Ubuntu Classic”, aka Gnome 2.32.1…

I think Canonical really needs to reconsider the Ubuntu release-cycle. A new version every 6 months is causing the release of software which should not be given the “stable” stamp, like Unity.

If in version 11.10 they get rid of Gnome altogether, I might have to consider switching distributions and even change the base of FEUPlive.

One thought on “Ubuntu 11.04

  1. Pingback: Linux Mint: my new desktop OS of choice | Relax's Presence

Leave a Reply

